OKFMA Bylaws





The Purpose of the “Association” shall be:

A.  To provide a vehicle for the exchange of ideas and information among those charged with the responsibility for          financial management in Oklahoma state government.

B.  To improve the quality of financial management within Oklahoma state government.

C.  To promote understanding of the management of fiscal resources in Oklahoma

      state government.


  1. This organization shall be known as the “State of Oklahoma Financial Management Association.”

  1. Membership shall consist of those individuals who are primarily responsible for their respective agency’s fiscal matters and said state agencies that pay annual dues of $50.00, which shall be paid in two-year increments. Normally this would be one or two individuals for each agency; however, larger agencies may want to include more members, however only two members per agency may be designated as “voting” members. Individuals eligible for membership are welcome to attend meetings and participate in all activities, but only dues paid members shall be eligible to vote and hold office.

  1. Coordinating Committee shall govern the Association. The Coordinating Committee shall consist of 7 voting members as follows:

The State Comptroller shall serve the Coordinating Committee as a non-voting member and shall act as a              technical advisor to the Committee.

  1. Regular meetings shall be held four times a year in March, June, September, and December on the second Wednesday of the month at 10:00 a.m., or on such other days and times as may be decided by the coordinating committee. Special meetings may be called by the Chair of the Coordinating Committee, or by a majority decision of the Coordinating Committee.

  1. At the first Coordinating Committee meeting after the May elections, the Coordinating Committee shall elect a Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary, and Treasure.

  1. The Chair of the Coordinating Committee shall select a three-member Nominating Committee to nominate new members to fill vacancies on the Coordinating Committee. Each term shall be for two years. The Nominating

Committee shall review existing coordinating Committee membership and nominate new members based on    the need for balanced representation.

  1. The duties of the Coordinating Committee shall be to plan meetings, programs, and projects as requested by the membership; and attend to mailings and meeting announcements.

  1. The Coordinating Committee shall appoint members as needed to the following permanent Subcommittees:


b. Legislative

c. Technology

d. Policy and Procedures

e. Best Practices

The Chair of each subcommittee shall submit an annual committee agenda to the Coordinating Committee for review and approval by July 30th of each year or as soon as possible thereafter.

  1. The Coordinating Committee may establish ad hoc or short-term committees for special planning or events.

  1. Failure of a member of the Coordinating Committee to attend two consecutive general membership or called Coordinating Committee meetings shall result in a letter of concern from the Chair. Upon missing three consecutive meetings without notifying the Chair of extenuating circumstances, the member shall be dropped from the Committee and so notified by the Chair. In the event of such action or resignation, the Coordinating Committee shall, at a Coordinating Committee meeting or by telephone canvass, elect an Association member to complete the remainder of the member’s un-expired term.

  1. These standing rules may be amended by a majority vote of the membership in attendance at any regular meeting.

Page 2 of 2